Baltic States

Baltic States in Europe

Description of Baltic states

The Concise Encyclopedia of the European Union describes baltic states in the following terms: [1] Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania, formerly part of the Soviet Union, now all independent democracies, each of which has a Europe Agreement with the EUand has applied for full membership – though only Estonia, which has pulled ahead of its neighbours, has been promised early admission. Under Soviet domination the Baltic states were integrated into the monolithic command economy of the USSR, making transition to market freedom a painful undertaking (see more in this European encyclopedia). In 1992, a Baltic Council was formed to promote regional development. This comprised the three Baltic states, six others with a Baltic seaboard (Denmark, Germany, Finland, Poland, Russia and Sweden) and two Nordic countries (Iceland and Norway).


Notas y References

  1. Based on the book “A Concise Encyclopedia of the European Union from Aachen to Zollverein”, by Rodney Leach (Profile Books; London)

See Also

Leave a Comment