Iron Curtain

Iron Curtain in Europe

Description of Iron Curtain

The Concise Encyclopedia of the European Union describes iron curtain in the following terms: [1] Winston Churchill’s prophetic 1946 description of the Soviet Union’s oppressive clampdown on Eastern Europe, leading to the Cold War (see more in this European encyclopedia). The original Iron Curtain countries were Albania, Bulgaria, Czechoslovakia, East Germany,Hungary, Poland and Romania (the Warsaw Pact signatories), with Yugoslaviaon the sidelines, communist but independent. Albania defected to an alliance with Maoist China in 1968, while Romania, under the dictator Ceausescu, pretended in the 1970s and 1980s to a degree of autonomy that it did not possess.


Notas y References

  1. Based on the book “A Concise Encyclopedia of the European Union from Aachen to Zollverein”, by Rodney Leach (Profile Books; London)

See Also

Leave a Comment