Mediterranean Policy

Mediterranean Policy in Europe

Description of Mediterranean policy

The Concise Encyclopedia of the European Union describes mediterranean policy in the following terms: [1] In 1995, the EU launched a ‘Euro-Mediterranean Partnership’ with 12 Mediterranean countries (Algeria, Cyprus, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Malta, Morocco, Syria, Tunisia, Turkey and the Palestinian territories). The ambition, promulgated especially by France and Spain, was to create a free trade zone by 2010, to balance the eastward shift in the EU’s centre of gravity that would follow from enlargement. Another motive was to aid stability in an area plagued by poverty and threatened by Islamic fundamentalism. The initiative was accompanied by promises of aid and resounding declarations about ‘shared values’, human rights, cultural co-operation, the ‘fight against international crime’ and so forth. In view, however, of the region’s ancient antagonisms and the unsavoury character of some of its regimes, it was not unduly cynical to see this as a somewhat empty exercise.


Notas y References

  1. Based on the book “A Concise Encyclopedia of the European Union from Aachen to Zollverein”, by Rodney Leach (Profile Books; London)

See Also

Leave a Comment