Pillars in Europe

Description of Pillars

The Concise Encyclopedia of the European Union describes pillars in the following terms: [1] The EU is said to stand like a temple on three pillars: the Community; the Common Foreign and Security Policy; and co-operation in the field of Justice and Home Affairs (recast in the 1997 Treaty of Amsterdam as Police and Judicial Co-operation in Criminal Matters). These pillars are of unequal strength. The Community (essentially the supranational institutions and policies created by the Treaty of Rome as amended by the Single European Act, theMaastricht Treaty and the Treaty of Amsterdam) is the first pillar and dominates the life of the Union. By contrast, the second and third pillars (the intergovernmental policies created by the Maastricht and Amsterdam Treaties) represent areas of looser co-operation between national governments. To shift activities from the other two pillars to the first pillar is the constant ambition of integrationists, for whom the temple metaphor doubtless symbolises the vision of Europe as a stately building whose architecture is ultimately destined to belong entirely to the Union. (See also Community method.)


Notas y References

  1. Based on the book “A Concise Encyclopedia of the European Union from Aachen to Zollverein”, by Rodney Leach (Profile Books; London)

See Also

Leave a Comment