The Six

The Six in Europe

Description of The Six

The Concise Encyclopedia of the European Union describes the six in the following terms: [1] Belgium, France, Italy, Luxembourg, The Netherlands and West Germany – the six original signatories of the 1951 Treaty of Paris and the 1957 Treaty of Rome, which created the European Coal and Steel Community and the European Economic Community respectively. The Six was a term used to distinguish the Community from the seven founder members of EFTA. Subsequent changes made both numbers obsolete.


Notas y References

  1. Based on the book “A Concise Encyclopedia of the European Union from Aachen to Zollverein”, by Rodney Leach (Profile Books; London)

See Also

Leave a Comment