Visegrad States

Visegrad States in Europe

Description of Visegrad states

The Concise Encyclopedia of the European Union describes visegrad states in the following terms: [1] The Czech Republic, Slovakia (together Czechoslovakia until 1993), Hungaryand Poland, formerly satellites of the Soviet Union and members of the Warsaw Pact, which met at Visegrad in 1991 and agreed to co-operate in seeking membership of NATO and the EU as a route to total integration into Western Europe (see more in this European encyclopedia). All four countries are members of the Council of Europe and have Association Agreements.


Notas y References

  1. Based on the book “A Concise Encyclopedia of the European Union from Aachen to Zollverein”, by Rodney Leach (Profile Books; London)

See Also

Leave a Comment